Southeast FBLA takes 2nd place at District; 17 students qualify for State

On Friday, January 30, Southeast High School Future Business Leaders of America traveled to Cherryvale High School for the annual district competition.  Thirty-seven Southeast students competed in a wide variety of events ranging from written tests, interviews, speeches, presentations, and many more.  Southeast as a team placed 2nd out of 17 teams, 33 out of 37 students placed in the top 10, and 17 met the qualifications for the state competition in Topeka.

State competitions will be held at the Capital Plaza Hotel in Topeka on March 23rd-25th. The qualified students will compete and have the opportunity to place in the top 10, which will allow them to walk on stage. Competitors who place in the top 3 of their event will be invited to compete at Nationals in Chicago, Illinois.

Southeast junior Zoey Ball has also been selected to sing the National Anthem at this years opening ceremony at state competition.

2015 FBLA State Qualifiers

  • Agribusiness – Jordon Watson, 1st Place; and, Adam Martinie, 2nd Place
  • Business Plan Team – Sami Sullivan, Erin Horgan and Zoey Ball, 1st Place
  • Business Presentation Team – Olivia Powell, Katie Yancey and Katie Horsman, 1st Place
  • Business Presentation Team – Laura Ridings and Sarah Claussen, 2nd Place
  • Cybersecurity – Ryan Gath, 2nd Place
  • FBLA Principles and Procedures – Sarah Clausen, 2nd Place
  • Introduction to Information Technology – Ryan Gath, 1st Place
  • Introduction to Parliamentary Procedures – Wyntr Jacobs, 2nd Place
  • Mr. FBL – Chandler Gravett, 1st Place
  • Ms. FBL – Olivia Powell, 3rd Place
  • Public Speaking I – Daisy Burns, 1st Place; and, Deitrich Smith, 2nd Place
  • Public Speaking II – Zoey Ball, 2nd Place; and, Chandler Gravett, 3rd Place
  • Social Media Team – Hannah Williams, Kyra Stewart and Daisy Burns, 1st Place
  • Word Processing – Olivia Powell, 2nd Place

Other Results from FBLA District (Top 10 Place):

  • Accounting – Shane Underwood, 4th Place
  • Business Calculations – Jarod Watson, 4th Place; and, Shane Underwood, 8th Place
  • Business Math – Dylan Wilson, 6th Place; and, Jake Burns, 10th Place
  • Desktop Publishing Team Event – Madison Bone & Bailee Ulery – 2nd Place
  • Digital Video Production – Zoey Ball, Cameron Paasch & Colton Paasch – 2nd Place
  • E-Business Team Event – Olivia Sullivan, Cameron Paasch, Juan Valdivia – 2nd Place
  • Entrepreneurship Team Event – Cameron Paasch, Colton Paasch & Sami Sullivan – 4th Place
  • FBLA Principles & Procedures – Brody Tickel, 4th Place; Caitlin Low, 6th Place; and, Wyntr Jacobs 8th Place
  • Hospitality Management Team Event – Erin Horgan, Zoey Ball & Aubrey Colvin, 6th Place; and, Katey Freeman, Meredith Harris, Camrin Sellers, 7th Place
  • Introduction to Information Technology –Dylan Wilson, 5th Place
  • Introduction to Parliamentary Procedures – Laura Ridings, 8th Place; and, Hannah Williams, 10th Place
  • Job Interview – Olivia Powell, 4th Place
  • PSA Video – Caleb Biancarelli, Bryce Blockburger & Riley Ulery – 3rd Place
  • Social Media Campaign – Aubrey Colvin & Erin Horgan – 2nd Place
  • Sports Management Team Event – Bryce Blockburger, Riley Ulery & Ryan Rakestraw, 6th Place; and, Cameron Paasch & Colton Paasch, 8th Place
%d bloggers like this: