Announcements:

Contact

USD 247 Southeast-Cherokee

District Office

506 S. Smelter Cherokee, Kansas
Office Phone Number: 1-620-457-8350
Office FAX Number: 1-620-457-8428

  • Superintendent: Brad Miner – bminer@usd247.com
  • Media information: Chris Wilson – 1-620-404-8140 – cwilson@usd247.com
  • Business Manager/Board Clerk: Bill Nott – bnott@usd247.com
  • Treasurer: Rita Mitchell – rmitchell@usd247.com
  • Food Services: Connie Kimzey – ckimzey@usd247.com
  • Transportation: Ray Whitlock – rwhitlock@usd247.com
  • Maintenance: Brent Imhof – bimhof@usd247.com
  • Technology: Linda Solomon – lindas@usd247.com
  • District Nurse: Susan Bole – sbole@usd247.com
  • After School & Summer Programs:
    • Kindergarten-4th: Jamie Ball – 620-396-8211, jball@usd247.com
    • 5th-12th grades: James Humble – 620-457-8365, jameshumble@usd247.com

Facebook | Twitter | Official newspaper: Pittsburg Morning Sun

Board of Education typically meets 2nd Monday of month, 6:00p at the board office (may vary depending on conflicting events)

Bus Barn

Phone: 1-620-457-8288
FAX: 1-620-457-8047

Southeast Elementary School

303 S. Humbert St Weir, Kansas 66781
Office Phone Number: 620-396-8211
Office FAX Number: 620-396-8160

  • Southeast Elementary Principal: Tammie Hall – thall@usd247.com
  • Southeast Elementary PTO: Leave message at 620-396-8160. On Facebook
  • Prekindergarten:
    • Megan Godfrey – mgodfrey@usd247.com
  • Kindergarten:
    • Cara Kubler – ckubler@usd247.com
    • Colleen Lacher – clacher@usd247.com
  • First Grade:
    • Carla Lewis – clewis@usd247.com
    • Cyndee Martin – cmartin@usd247.com
  • Second Grade:
    • Brenda Waugh – bwaugh@usd247.com
    • Wendy Winter – wwinter@usd247.com
  • Third Grade:
    • Carol Denham – cdenham@usd247.com
    • Missy Johnson – mjohnson@usd247.com
  • Fourth Grade:
    • Joyce Fox – jfox@usd247.com
    • Becky Martin – beckymartin@usd247.com
  • Music:
    • Daniel Renn – drenn@usd247.com
  • P.E.:
    • Ben Coomes – bcoomes@usd247.com

Southeast Junior High

206 West Magnolia St Cherokee, Kansas 66724
Office Phone Number: 620-457-8315
Office FAX Number: 620-457-8380

  • Southeast Junior High Principal: Joe Martin – jlmartin@usd247.com
  • Southeast Junior High PTO: 620-249-3594; On Facebook.
  • Athletic Director: Frank Pittman – fpittman@usd247.com
  • Teachers:
    • Mike Bowman – mbowman@usd247.com
    • Nancy Brunetti – nbrunetti@usd247.com
    • Mary Colvin – mcolvin@usd247.com
    • Ronda Coltrane – rcoltrane@usd247.com
    • Linda Gage – lgage@usd247.com
    • Danica Gibson – dgibson@usd247.com
    • Jared Hansen – jhansen@usd247.com
    • Ashley Hobbs – ahobbs@usd247.com
    • Dina Horgan – dhorgan@usd247.com
    • Rebecca Logan – rlogan@usd247.com
    • Debbie Madl – dmadl@usd247.com
    • Sandra Martinie – smartine@usd247.com
    • Natalie Powell – npowell@usd247.com
    • Donna Renn – donnarenn@usd247.com
    • Kathy Spahn – kspahn@usd247.com
    • Cathy Strukel – cstrukel@usd247.com
    • Marta Ward – mward@usd247.com
    • Jason Wilderman – jwilderman@usd247.com
    • Karla Williams – kwilliams@usd247.com

Southeast High School

126 W 400 Hwy Cherokee, Kansas 66724
Office Phone Number: 620-457-8365
Office FAX Number: 620-457-8389.

  • Southeast High School Principal: Larry Malle – lmalle@usd247.com
  • Southeast High School Vice Principal & District Curriculum Director: Debbie Clawson – dclawson@usd247.com
  • Athletic Director: Frank Pittman – fpittman@usd247.com
  • After Prom: On Facebook
  • Booster Club: 620-429-5405. On Facebook
  • Band Booster Club: 620-396-8640; On Facebook
  • Prom: Denise Burns – dburns@usd247.com
  • Teachers:
    • Nancy Brunetti – nbrunetti@usd247.com
    • Scott Butler – sbutler@usd247.com
    • Brad Coots – bcoots@usd247.com
    • David Dainty – ddainty@usd247.com
    • Melanie Evitts – mevitts@usd247.com
    • Danica Gibson – dgibson@usd247.com
    • Jared Hansen – jhansen@usd247.com
    • Ellen Harrington – eharrington@usd247.com
    • Sonora Jones – sjones@usd247.com
    • Gary Leiker – gleiker@usd247.com
    • Jessica Mayfield – jmayfield@usd247.com
    • Rachel Trezona – rtrezona@usd247.com
    • Donna Renn – donnarenn@usd247.com
    • Jim Rockers – jrockers@usd247.com
    • Tyler Rothove – trothove@usd247.com
    • Derek Sanders – dsanders@usd247.com
    • Cherie Witt – cwitt@usd247.com

Student Involvement

Admission to Southeast High School Activities (Sports): $3 – students & $4 – non-students.

  • 4-H (4H)
    • McCune (Happy Hustlers): 620-249-0161. On Facebook
    • Pittsburg (Win or Bust): 620-687-1454
    • Scammon (Prairie Ramblers): janhumble@embarqmail.com. On Facebook
  • Archery Club
    • Mike Bowman – mbowman@usd247.com
  • Band Director: Danica Gibson – dgibson@usd247.com
  • Baseball
    • SHS/15U: David Dainty – ddainty@usd247.com
    • Cherokee Little League (5-12 year olds): Paula Pierson – 620-875-9487; On Facebook
  • Basketball
    • SHS Boys: Dan Wall – dwall@usd247.com
    • SHS Girls: Derek Sanders – dsanders@usd247.com
    • SJHS Boys: David Dainty – ddainty@usd247.com
    • SJHS Girls: Tessa Robin – tessa.robin@gus.pittstate.edu
    • Cherokee Upward Basketball (Kindergarten-6th grades): 620-457-8397; On Facebook
  • Cheer:
    • SHS: Michelle Dayton – TBA
    • SJHS: Mary Colvin – mcolvin@usd247.com
    • Mini Lancer: Melissa Jacobs – TBA
  • Chess Club: Charity Chrysler – cchrysler@usd247.com
  • Choir: Rebecca Logan – rlogan@usd247.com
  • Cross Country: Laney Lawson – llawson@gus.pittstate.edu
  • Debate/Forensics: Gary Leiker – gleiker@usd247.com
  • FBLA chapter (Future Business Leaders of America): Cherie Witt – cwitt@usd247.com; On Twitter
  • FCA chapter (Fellowship of Christian Athletes): Laney Lawson – llawson@gus.pittstate.edu
  • FCCLA chapter (Family, Career and Community Leaders of America): Sonora Jones – sjones@usd247.com
  • FFA chapter (Future Farmers of America): Tyler Rothove (pronounced like “rode off into the sunset) – trothove; On Facebook
  • Football
    • SHS: Jerrad Hansen – jhansen@usd247.com
    • SJHS: Nick Cheney Jr. – ncheney@usd247.com
    • Mini Lancer Football: Whitney Lovell – 620-404-9191, On Facebook
  • HOSA chapter (Future Health Professionals): Jessica Mayfield – jmayfield@usd247.com
  • KAY chapter (Kansas Area Youth): Debbie Turner – dturner@usd247.com
  • SkillsUSA: Jim Rockers – jrockers@usd247.com
  • Softball
    • SHS & 15U: Mike Bowman – mbowman@usd247.com
    • Southeast Girls Softball Association (12 & under): Jennifer Hutton – 620-719-0986
  • Track & Field
    • SHS: Nick Cheney Jr. – ncheney@usd247.com
    • SJHS: Ashley Hobbs – ahobbs@usd247.com
  • TSA chapter (Technology Students of America): Brad Coots – bcoots@usd247.com
  • Volleyball
    • SHS: Maya White – mwhite@usd247.com
    • SJHS 8th grade: Tessa Robin – tessa.robin@gus.pittstate.edu
    • SJHS 7th grade: Natalie Powell – npowell@usd247.com
  • Wrestling
    • SJHS & SHS: Jason Wilderman – jwilderman@usd247.com
    • Lancer Youth Wrestling Club: 620-778-2934; On Facebook

Area Community Contacts

City Halls

  • Cherokee City Hall: 620-457-8413; cityofcherokee@ckt.net; M-F 9:00a-12:00p & 1:00p-5:00p; Council meets 2nd Thursday, 6:30p at City Hall; Official newspaper: Pittsburg Morning Sun.
  • McCune City Hall: 620-632-4299; mccunecity@ckt.net; M-F 7:30a-12:00p, 12:30p-4:00p. On Facebook. Council meets 2nd Monday, 7:00p at McCune Library Hall; Official newspaper: Labette Avenue.
  • Weir City Hall: 620-396-8214; On Facebook; weircityclerk@ckt.net; M-F 8:00a-12:00p, 1:00p-4:00p; Council meets 2nd Monday, 6:30p at City Hall; Newspaper: Galena Sentinel-Times.
  • West Mineral City Hall: 620-827-6131; M-F 8:30a-12:30p; mineral@cket.net; Council meets 2nd Tuesday, 7:00p; Newspaper: Columbus News Report.

Civic Groups

  • Cherokee American Legion: 620-457-8561. Organizes annual Christmas Toy Drive in cooperation with the Cherokee Fire Fighters (2nd Saturday of December).
  • Cherokee Ruritan Club: 620-457-8479; meets 4th Wednesday, 6:15p at Cooky’s Diner. Organizes annual Cherokee Homecoming (weekend that follows Labor Day weekend) and organizes Cherokee Lighted Downtown Christmas Parade (2nd Saturday of December).
  • Cherokee Senior Citizens: 620-457-8628, rosetta@ckt.net; meeting & pot luck lunch 3rd Thursday, 11:30a at Cherokee Community Center (north of City Hall)
  • McCune Alumni Association Inc.
  • McCune Lions Club: On Facebook. Meets 2nd & 4th Thursday, 7:30p at McCune Community Center
  • Weir Civic Club: 620-396-8996; On Facebook; Meets 1st Sunday of each month, 6:30p at Weir Civic Center; Organizes Weir Homecoming the 3rd weekend of September
  • Weir Senior Citizens: 620-429-6402; Meeting & pot luck lunch, 1st Tuesday 11:30a at Weir Community Center at Weir Park.
  • West Mineral Eagles (Fraternal Order of Eagles): On Facebook

Others frequently asked about

  • Big Brutus Visitors Center: 620-827-6177
  • Cherokee Little Free Library: Box outside of City Hall
  • McCune-Osage Township Library & Museum: 620-632-4112; On Facebook
  • Weir Community Center at Park: 620-396-8214
  • Weir Public Library: 620-396-8899; On Facebook

Elected Officials

U.S. Congress

  • Senator: Jerry Moran (R) – 361A Russell Senate Office Building Washington DC 20510; (202) 224-6521; Email
  • Senator: Pat Roberts (R) – 109 Hart Senate Office Building Washington DC 20510; (202) 224-4774; Email
  • House of Representatives 2nd District: Lynn Jenkins (R) – 1526 LHOB; 202-225-6601; Email

Kansas House of Representatives

  • District 1 Representative (map): Michael Houser (R) – Capitol Office Room: 179-N Seat: 61; Phone: 785 296-7679; Email: michael.houser@house.ks.gov
  • District 2 Representative (map): Adam Lusker (D) – Capitol Office Room: 43-S Seat: 33; Phone: 785-296-7698; Email: adam.lusker@house.ks.gov
  • District 3 Representative (map): Monica Murnan (D) – Capitol Office Room: 54-S Seat 95; Phone 785-296-7426; Email monica.murnan@house.ks.gov
  • District 7 Representative (map): Richard Proehl (R) – Capitol Office Room: 581-W Seat: 59; Phone: 785 296-7639; Email: richard.proehl@house.ks.gov

Kansas Senate

  • District 13 Senator (map): Jacob LaTurner (R) – Capitol Office Room: 135-E Seat: 12; Phone: 785-296-7370; Email: Jacob.LaTurner@senate.ks.gov

USD 247 Southeast-Cherokee Board of Education

  • President, At Large representative (through 2019): David Stricklin – dstricklin@usd247.com
  • Vice President, Zone #1 (through 2019): Sundown Jacobs – sjacobs@usd247.com
  • Zone #2 representative (through 2019): John Staton
  • Zone #3 (through 2019): Barbara Long – blong@usd247.com
  • Zone #4 (through 2017): Ron Yancey – ryancey@usd247.com
  • Zone #5 (through 2017): Jeff Burns – jburns@usd247.com
  • Zone #6 (through 2017): Jessica Wells – jwells@usd247.com

# # #

SEARCH TERMS: Contact | Contacts | Directory | Help | Staff | Staff Directory

%d bloggers like this: