Post Season Basketball Awards

TRL All-Conference

Local players earn all-state basketball honors

Staff Reports

Seven local and area
players are first-team
selections on the high
school basketball all-state
teams selected by Sports
in Kansas.
The Class 5A boys team
has Mason English on the
second team. The Purple
Dragons’ Jackson Turnbull received honorable
Jalen VanBecelaere of
St. Mary’s Colgan and
Easton Renn of Southeast
are second-team picks on
the Class 2A team.

The Panthers’ Nick
Ison and Aidan Fleming
and the Lancers’ Cade
Burdette received honorable mention.

In Class 3A, Brahm
Born of Girard and Brett
Sarwinski of Galena are
on the first team. Sarwinski also was named
Player of the Year in 3A.
Galena’s Tyler Little is
on the second team, and
the Bulldogs’ Kobe McGlothlin and Maverick
Harmon received honorable mention along with
Brecken Troike and Luke
Niggemann of Girard,
Mario Menghini, Jordan
Fudge, Collin McCartney and Michael Doria of
Frontenac, Jamey Richardson of Riverton and
Brett Hamilton of Columbus.
The Southeast Kansas League is well represented on the 4A team
with Easton Ewing of
Independence on the first
team and Eli Hestand of
Labette County and Kam
Koester of Chanute on
the second team.
Honorable mention
went to Alex Meister
of Labette County, Paxton Swanson and Jessie
Jones of Parsons, Ethan
Viets of Coffeyville, Lars
Koester of Chanute and
Collin Thomas of Fort
All five St. Mary’s Colgan starters are on the
Class 2A all-state team.
Lily Brown was named
to the first team, and
Lauren Yaghmour and
Lauren Torrance are on
the second team. Emily
Imhof and Gabi Radell
received honorable mention.
Liberty Sigmon of
Northeast also received
honorable mention on the
2A team.
Pittsburg’s Jacqueline
Hall received honorable
mention on the 5A team.
The 3A team has Frontenac’s Heather Arnett
and Galena’s Mia Sarwinski on the first team
and the Raiders’ Hattie
Pyle on the second team.
Honorable mention
choices include Kinley
Smith, Faith Poland and
Olivia Cullen of Girard,
Rylee Boyes of Galena,
Katy Mooney of Columbus and Jacy Thomasson
of Riverton.
In 4A, Labette County’s
Madison Brannin was
named to the first team,
and Fort Scott’s Keegan
Yarick and Independence’s Abby Veile made
the second team.
Honorable mention
went to Anna Dean of
Labette County, Harmony Shaw, Abby Altic and
McKenzie Murphy of
Fort Scott, Parsons’ Eliana Valentin-Florence,
Sydney Schibi and Iniya Hinman of Parsons
and Chanute’s Peyton

%d bloggers like this: