Career & Technical Education (CTE)

Career Technical Education pathways available through USD 247 prepare students for the workforce with a real world education. Click the name of each program to learn more.

Why CTE?

The Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Improvement Act of 2006 was designed to improve and expand services for students enrolled in career and technical education (CTE) programs. Courses in these programs are intended to prepare students for further education and careers in current or emerging employment sectors of high-skill, high-wage or high- demand occupations. The courses include competency- based applied learning that contributes to the academic knowledge, higher-order reasoning and problem solving skills, work attitudes, general employability skills, technical skills, and occupation-specific skills of students.

Senate Bill 155

Senate Bill 155, or the Governor’s CTE Bill, was passed into law on July 1, 2012. The main purpose of the bill is to stimulate growth in Career & Technical Education at both the secondary and post- secondary level in Kansas. The Kansas workforce will increasingly demand a more highly-technical and highly-skilled worker and Senate Bill 155 is aimed at meeting those future demands.

Statewide Articulation Agreements

Statewide Articulation Agreements are created to enable Kansas High School Graduates to have a smooth transition from their high school Career & Technical Education Pathway to the corresponding Occupational Program at the postsecondary level.

Any Kansas high school graduate who meets the requirements of an articulation agreement may utilize the agreement to obtain college credit, scholarships, tuition waivers, or other benefits as stated in each agreement.

The following Kansas postsecondary institutions are statewide articulation agreement partners

Barton Community College
Cloud County Community College
Emporia State University
Flint Hills Technical College
Kansas City Kansas Community College
Manhattan Area Technical College
North Central Kansas Technical College
Pittsburg State University
Seward County Community College
Washburn University
Wichita State University

For a student to be a concentrator in a pathway, 2 of 3 required secondary level credits taken must be a combination of technical and application levels.

%d bloggers like this: